April 30, 2024

CBS Cans Two Legendary QBs in Favor of Matt Ryan

Out with the old, and in with the new.

That is what is happening at CBS right now, as Phil Simms and Boomer Esiason have been given their walking papers from “The NFL Today.”

Newly retired quarterback Matt Ryan and former Houston Texans star defensive end J.J. Watt will replace Simms and Esiason on the broadcast.

Time to Go

Some big-name players recently retired, and it looks like CBS wants to set itself up for the long game by getting rid of some dead weight.

Their performance on the football field notwithstanding, Esiason and Simms, especially Simms, were not exactly electrifying on TV.

Simms announced his departure with grace, stating, “Great 26 yrs run with CBS SPORTS. Even though that part of my career is over I look forward to what is next..”

Esiason took a bit of a shot, posting, “I am stepping away from The NFL Today on CBS. More their decision than maybe mine.”

Esiason, however, will continue his WFAN radio morning show.

The two former NFL stars will be replaced with Matt Ryan, the former QB for the Atlanta Falcons who just retired, and former Houston Texans defensive end J. J. Watt.

Nate Burleson, who I wish they would replace, and Bill Cowher will remain on the show.

Simms played for the New York Giants from 1979 to 1993, winning two Super Bowls and a Super Bowl MVP in the process.

Esiason played in the NFL from 1984 to 1997, with most of his time being with the Bengals, but the big game eluded him during his career, but personal glory did not.

He made the Pro Bowl four times, as well as winning the NFL MVP award in 1988.

Ryan, the new kid on the block played in the NFL from 2008 to 2022, with all but his last year playing for the Falcons.

Although his list of accomplishments is long, he will always be remembered for the Falcons' collapse against the Patriots in Super Bowl LI.

In that game, the Falcons were up 21-3 at the half and 28-9 at the end of three quarters, but they were shut out in the fourth, when the Patriots tied it up and won the game 34-28 in overtime.

J.J. Watt played in the NFL from 2011 to 2022, spending all but his final two seasons in Houston.

Watt was the Defensive Player of the Year in 2012, 2014, and 2015 and the Walter Payton Man of the Year in 2017.

Unfortunately, as great as he was, it was not enough to ever win a Super Bowl.

Now we wish them luck in the next stage of their professional careers.

Don't Wait
We publish the objective news, period. If you want the facts, then sign up below and join our movement for objective news:
Top stories

Trump Will Not Testify in His Own Defense

May 22, 2024
G. McConway

Corey Booker backs away from Biden border bill

May 22, 2024
Charlotte Tyler

Poll Reveals Top TV Choice by Voters

May 22, 2024
G. McConway
Get news from American Digest in your inbox.
By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: American Digest, 3000 S. Hulen Street, Ste 124 #1064, Fort Worth, TX, 76109, US, You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact.